60 Comments
author

Hi everyone! For those who don't know me, I'm Natasha. I live in Perth, Western Australia. I write books, draw dresses, read a lot, and travel when I can. I'm into running as well. Right now I'm reading Carrie Soto is Back by Taylor Jenkins Reid, in case you're interested! Looking forward to meeting you all.

Expand full comment

I was disappointed in myself as my goal was 100, but it's been a tough year. Reading is my meditation. Yes, social media is so misleading of what people are really doing in their lives, happy to have time away also. Have even joined a letter writing group and now have a penpal.

Expand full comment

Hello Natasha, I'm Nicole from Brisbane Queensland. I read alot 81 books this year. I love to sew and paint. I go to Aqua and water walk. I just finished reading The Natural History of Loveby Caroline Petit. Happy New Year, looking forward to chatting.

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha, I’m excited to be a part of your Substack community, thank you for creating it! I’m Casey and I’m from a little rural town in north west NSW, Australia. I am a lover of history, fashion and reading, so naturally your books are the most perfect form of escapism for me! I have two beautiful sons and I’m a special education teacher. I am currently reading The Christmas Postcards by Karen Swan; reading her latest release is a Christmas holiday tradition I’ve upheld for years.

All the best for a wonderful weekend!

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha, I hope u know I have always loved your writing from even before you published your first book. I didn’t know what substack was until you posted yesterday. Oddly, just that morning I was saying to my sisters that I feel so impatient writing a first draft of my next book and I wished that blogging was a proper thing again, you know like how it used to be, so I could share a bit of my research and also hear about what other writers were thinking/writing/doing. And then there you were with a new option. I’m still confused though, still super new. Why substack and not a blog on your own page? Or will I grow tired of the inbox messages, if I subscribe to too many things? Etc etc. But... ultimately, I love what you have done these last couple days and I have loved many of the posts and newsletters I have since come across. Still exploring, I think.

Also for others, I’m in Perth too. I just finished Brooke Dunnell’s The Glasshouse and Claire Keegan’s ‘Small things like these’. I am halfway through an incredible book called ‘The unwomanly face of war’ and I just begun Gail Jones’ ‘Salonica Burning’. All good and all recommendable. Happy New Year. Thanks for introducing me to this.

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha, huge fan, also from Perth and a devoted Gingerbread house builder! I had no idea Substack existed, so thank you for sharing. I just deleted Insta from my phone (due to an unstoppable scrolling addiction!) but still desperately want to stay in touch with the reading/writing community. This is perfect.

I love writing and have been part of Holly Craig’s Write Club this year and will continue in 2023. Currently reading “What if You Fly” by Camille Booker and loving it.

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha, I'm Andrew, a sometime short story writer but more often a poet from Melbourne (previously Sydney). I love historical fiction and have enjoyed your books greatly. And you've prompted me to stop procrastinating and start using Substack (rather than WordPress, etc).

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha,

I am from Southern California! I am so excited to meet Alix in a few days! Your books made me fall in love with Historical Fiction! Each of your characters stay with me and I find myself recommended your books to friends often and then discussing the book/characters once they finish!

I have two very active children, a husband, and work full time. I have personal reading goals set each year and often meet those goals by listening to books as well; I wouldn't be able to read nearly as many books as I would like to if Audio wasn't available.

I look forward to reading more of your words! You have a beautiful way with words and am excited this platform exists!

Expand full comment

Huge fan of yours! Love your words on Instagram, so this sounds perfect!! Reader of historical fiction, particularly female resistance workers, absolutely European travel.

Expand full comment

Hello, I’m from California and love Natasha’s books! I have two children and have been married for 36 years. I can’t wait to meet Alix St. Pierre!

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha, I’m Annette and I’m from Melbourne. I’m a copywriter and have a love of reading, baking, travel and anything fun. I love your books and have also got my mum hooked on them! I’m so happy to be a part of this community.

Expand full comment

Hi my name is Christine and I live near Brisbane. I am retired but my passion is making greeting cards. I have no idea what Substack is but willing to give it a try to read Natasha's news and information. I am currently reading Golden Earings by Belinda Alexandra and loving it.

Expand full comment

Hi Everyone, I’m very glad to be here. I’m a writer from Melbourne and I work full time. Fairly new to the writing game and I am excited to have my first novel coming out next year. Natasha’s recent comments about the role of social media for writers has captured my interest and so I signed up for her newsletter. It seems like social media is a necessary evil for writers, but it’s also a huge drain on time and energy we could be spending on doing the actual writing. I look forward to further discussions on this subject. Cheers, Naomi. x

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha! I've followed your blog, Facebook etc. since you released A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald and I've loved following your journey as a writer. I live in north west NSW, read a lot and I'm also a writer. Looking forward to engaging with Substack. :)

Expand full comment

Hello. My name is Cheri. I have always loved reading. Several years ago I got very interested in historical fiction- particularly WW II fiction. I don't read as much as I did a couple years ago as life has been a bit hectic over the past two years. I am interested to see what I find on Substack and I am trying to cut back on FB and IG.

Expand full comment

Hi everyone. I'm Rachel and live in Wellington New Zealand. I love reading and creative writing. I work in health communications for a day job and enjoy creative writing in my spare time. I've started my first novel over the past year (although the idea was seeded some 15 years ago while travelling). I have a while to go and my goal is to finish the first draft in 2023. I have two teenage children who also keep me busy. I discovered The Riveria House in a bookshop about 3 months ago and then quickly bought the Three Lives of Alix St Pierre' as I love the mix of historical fiction, strong female characters, creative writing and storytelling. I enjoy talking about all things reading and writing and the craft of writing too. I'm about to start 'Miracle' by Jennifer Lane.

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha, I’m Nathalie, french writer and excited to be a part of your Substack community, thank you for creating it! Your are quite an example for me and I'm following from your first book.

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha, Sue here from Ireland but hopefully returning forever to my beloved Perth later this year. I came across Substack with David Michie (also Perth author) & find this medium so much more interesting & informative than Facebook. I don't subscribe to any other on line eg twitter, Instagram etc. I love reading, use Libby, the WA online library, Apple & Amazon. It is where I escape from the stress of life. Australia has, & is producing some excellent authors & I rarely read any other than these as there is such a wide variety of genre to choose from. I'm looking forward to your monthly blurb!

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha, I an Christine and I live in North West Sydney Hills area. I have been reading your books for a few years now I love historical fiction books. I would generally read about 15-20 books in a year. Sometimes less sometimes more.

Expand full comment

Hi I am Kate a Brit living in St. Louis MO. 2022 found me reading 92 books and Natasha’s were (are) loved.

Expand full comment

Hi. I am Ulla and are joining from Denmark. I read or rather listen to a lot of historical fiction. Often these books don't get translated into Danish, so I actually practice my English this way. (Recently i enjoyed listening to The three lives of Alix st Pierre...wonderful book!)I love listening and knitting at the same time . I read books too, right now Virginia Wolf 'A room og one's own' which we will discuss in my bookclub later this month. I am a retired chef and Danish teacher.

Expand full comment

Happy New Year from Ontario, Canada 😊 As with most here, I’m new to Substack and joined recently when a Canadian social media personality I enjoy started transitioning his posts here, for many of the same reasons as you, Natasha, particularly with respect to Twitter changes. I am an avid reader and truly appreciate the blood sweat and tears that go into creating something for the world to read - my thanks to all of you here who are giving so much of yourselves to your craft. My first read of the year is The Three Lives of Alix St Pierre 😉 - a signed Australian edition my friend in Sydney sent me after attending the launch at Dymocks 🥰 I was so excited to receive a copy before it is released here next week.

Expand full comment

Happy New Year!!🎉🎉🎉

Expand full comment

Hello., I'm Jacie from Perth, Western Australia. I am an aspiring/emerging writer. I lose my way a lot. I have ADHD, which impacts my abilities sometimes. I love reading, sewing, DIY/Upcycling things. I also love walking along the coast where I live; currently returning to that following a broken ankle.

I am currently reading The Bookbinder's Daughter by Jessica Thorne.

Expand full comment

Hello Natasha. Excited you have found a home that provides you with the right forum for us to enjoy your ponderings.

Look forward to reading your thoughts and musings.

~ Helen (Great Reads & Tea Leaves)

Expand full comment

Hi Natasha

Thank you for introducing me to Substack. As a writer and marketer, and like most people here, I feel Meta has become somewhat of a necessary evil. You have to use it but sometimes, especially as a consumer, it is like digging for a diamond amongst a sea of mindless drivel. I’m all for promoting not just the power, but the value of the written word. I’m located in Sydney and have ambitions of transitioning into a full time writer in 2023. I subscribe to a couple of writers newsletters and podcasts like Writes4Women, and I am really looking forward to Bijoux.

I discovered you when you were on tour promoting The Paris Seamstress and have been following you ever since. I love your storytelling and the fact you write about strong independent women. And, as a marketer, I also appreciate and admire the way you promote your work. It’s a skill in itself, and one not many writers execute as well as you do.

As for the other info, I’ve managed to rack up 71 books this year and am currently reading The Island of Sea Women by Lisa See. For me this year’s standouts (apart from the Three Lives of Alix St Pierre, of course) were Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus and Still Life by Sarah Winman.

Expand full comment

Hi all of you from northern Europe, Sweden! I love history and novels and if I could do my life over I would have worked as an archealogist. (Spelling it right or not ...?) I will soon go to France to research some areas for my 5th novel, but it's still unfortunately just a hobby of mine even though I've gotten some lovely exposure in swedish media. 🙌🏼 I'm new to Substack and miss my old blog, maybe this is the new?

Expand full comment

Hello Natasha, I’m a fan of your writing from way back and am always inspired by your work ethic and fabulous stories. I’d never heard of Substack so this should be interesting. I’ve just finished reading the seven skins of Esther Wilding. Brilliant intertwining of stories. Happy New Year

Expand full comment